THE ROAD TO

ZERO

STARTS WITH

ONE

2020 ZERO FATALITIES



AWARD NOMINATION CATEGORIES 2014, 2016, 2018 WINNERS

ZERO FATALITIES LEADERSHIP AWARD

The Zero Fatalities Leadership Award honors individuals for outstanding leadership that significantly improves highway safety to prevent traffic-related deaths and injuries. The recipient of this award must have undertaken a concerted, long-term effort to make Utah's roadways safer and must have made a significant contribution to the field of highway safety. The recipient must have established and implemented programs or have been responsible for notable advancements in technology or research that have yielded a demonstrated safety impact throughout the years.

2014 Award Recipients: D. Lance Davenport and John Njord

2016 Award Recipient: Robert Hull

2018 Award Recipient: State Representative Lee Perry

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT IN TRAFFIC SAFETY AWARD

This award recognizes an individual or group for innovative approaches to educating the public regarding traffic safety in Utah and in changing behavior. Regardless of how big or small their accomplishment, the recipient must have made a significant impact on Utahn's lives.

2014 Award Recipients: Heather Hallman and Cindy Flowers

2016 Award Recipients: Salt Lake Chamber

2018 Award Recipient: Herriman Unified Police Department

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR AWARD

Without the dedication of Utah's many volunteers, our traffic safety programs would not be effective at saving lives and preventing injuries on our roadways. This award recognizes an individual or group who have dedicated their personal time educating the community and furthering traffic safety initiatives.

2014 Award Recipients: Clark and Debbie Hill

2016 Award Recipient: Lorri Henseler

2018 Award Recipient: Tim and Susan Strebel

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT IN CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY AWARD

This award recognizes an individual or group for outstanding dedication and personal devotion to keeping children safe while traveling. The recipient has made a significant impact on the lives of Utah's children and has improved child passenger safety in their community.

2014 Award Recipients: Salt Lake County Health Department Injury Prevention Program and Amy Winkler

2016: Award Recipient: Peggy Smith

2018 Award Recipient: South Jordan Police Department

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE INJURY PREVENTION ADVOCATE OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Emergency Medical Service Injury Prevention Advocate of the Year Award honors an EMS individual or group that exemplifies outstanding achievements, dedication and service in the area of injury prevention for their community.

2014 Award Recipient: Keith Nicol

2016 Award Recipient: Andrew Ostler

2018 Award Recipient: Kris F. Shields, R.N.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S EXCELLENT IN TRANSPORTATION SAFETY AWARD

This award is presented to a public or private transportation partner that has improved traffic safety. Improved traffic safety may be the result of better engineering or design, operational/management improvements, increased public awareness, or integrated, comprehensive efforts. Government entities and other organizations are eligible to receive this award. It is presented by the Executive Director of the Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) and is primarily designed to recognized partners working on the engineering and operations side of traffic safety.

2014 Award Recipients: Grant Schultz- Ph.D., P.E., P.F.O.E., Mitsuru Saito- Ph.D., P.E., and C. Shane Reese- Ph.D. (Department of Civil and Environment Engineering, Brigham Young University)

2016 Award Recipient: Stan Burns, P.E.

2018 Award Recipient: W. Scott Jones, P.E.

COMMISSIONER'S EXCLELENT IN TRAFFIC SAFETY AWARD

This award is presented to a law enforcement agency with a highly successful traffic safety program aimed at reducing death and injury on Utah's roadways. It recognizes an agency that works to not only enforce laws, but also to educate the public about occupant protection, impaired driving, speeding and other traffic issues. This award is presented by the Commissioner of the Utah Department of Public Safety.

2014 Award Recipient: Logan City Police Department

2016 Award Recipient: St. George City Police Department

2018 Award Recipient: Utah County Sheriff's Office

OUTSTANDING TRAFFIC SAFETY PROGRAM AWARD

This award recognizes one project or subgrantee from the Utah Highway Safety Office (UHSO) and one from UDOT from the previous fiscal year that has been successful in reducing traffic-related deaths and injuries. The projects selected to receive this award must have accomplished all the objectives of the grant and made a positive impact on the community they serve. Recipients of this award are nominated and selected by UHSO and UDOT staff.

2014 Award Recipients: Utah Highway Patrol's Teen Driving Challenge Program and Troy Forgersen-P.E. from UDOT Region 4, I-15 Median and Roadside Improvement Project

2016 Award Recipients: UDOT Region 2 S.R. 201/S.R. 202 Intersection Realignment and Signalization and Brian R. Barthel- Ph.D, Click it Club, UVU

2018 Award Recipients: Utah Teen Memoriam Jenny Johnson and Utah Highway Safety Office & Utah Emergency Medical Services for Children Bicycle Skills Rodeo Trailer Program Allan Marques

OUTSTANDING DRIVER EDUCATION TEACHER AWARD

This award recognizes a driver education teacher who has made a significant impact in improving traffic safety through educating drivers regarding safe driving habits and teaching students how to drive.

2018 Award Recipient: Steve Galley