

Zero Fatalities Safety Summit



2025 Zero Fatalities **AWARDS NOMINATION CATEGORIES**

PAST WINNERS

ZERO FATALITIES LEADERSHIP AWARD

The Zero Fatalities Leadership Award honors individuals for outstanding leadership that significantly improves highway safety to prevent traffic-related deaths and injuries. The recipient of this award must have undertaken a concerted, long-term effort to make Utah's roads safer and must have made a significant contribution to the field of highway safety. The recipient must have established and implemented programs or have been responsible for notable advancements in technology or research that have yielded a demonstrated safety impact throughout the years.

2018 Award Recipient: State Representative Lee Perry 2021 Award Recipient: Chad Sheppick 2023 Award Recipient: Kristy Rigby

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT IN TRAFFIC SAFETY AWARD

This award recognizes an individual or group for innovative approaches to educating the public regarding traffic safety in Utah and in changing behavior. Regardless of how big or small their accomplishment, the recipient must have made a significant impact on Utah lives.

2018 Award Recipient: Herriman Unified Police Department 2021 Award Recipient: Sam Winkler 2023 Award Recipient: Janakaye Smith

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR AWARD

Without the dedication of Utah's many volunteers, our traffic safety programs would not be effective at saving lives and preventing injuries on our roads. This award recognizes an individual or group who have dedicated their personal time educating the community and furthering traffic safety initiatives.

2018 Award Recipient: Tim and Susan Strebel 2021 Award Recipient: Lori Farnworth and Christine Curry 2023 Award Recipient: Chad Hawkes

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT IN CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY AWARD

This award recognizes an individual or group for outstanding dedication and personal devotion to keeping children safe while traveling. The recipient has made a significant impact on the lives of Utah's children and has improved child passenger safety in their community.

2018 Award Recipient: South Jordan Police Department 2021 Award Recipient: Terry Smith 2023 Award Recipient: Heather Hallman

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE INJURY PREVENTION ADVOCATE OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Emergency Medical Service Injury Prevention Advocate of the Year Award honors an EMS individual or group that exemplifies outstanding achievements, dedication and service in the area of injury prevention for their community.

2018 Award Recipient: Kris F. Shields, R.N. 2021 Award Recipient: Dr. Hilary Hewes 2023 Award Recipient: Tia Dickson

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S EXCELLENCE IN TRANSPORTATION SAFETY AWARD

This award is presented to a public or private transportation partner that has improved traffic safety. Improved traffic safety may be the result of better engineering or design, operational/management improvements, increased public awareness, or integrated, comprehensive efforts. Government entities and other organizations are eligible to receive this award. It is presented by the Executive Director of the Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) and is primarily designed to recognize partners working on the engineering and operations side of traffic safety.

2018 Award Recipient: W. Scott Jones, P.E. 2021 Award Recipient: Left Turn Signal Improvements Team 2023 Award Recipient: UDOT Region 4 Traffic & Safety SR-130 Roundabout Project in Enoch

2025 Zero Fatalities **AWARDS NOMINATION CATEGORIES**

PAST WINNERS

COMMISSIONER'S EXCELLENCE IN TRAFFIC SAFETY AWARD

This award is presented to a law enforcement agency with a highly successful traffic safety program aimed at reducing death and injury on Utah's roads. It recognizes an agency that works to not only enforce laws, but also to educate the public about occupant protection, impaired driving, speeding and other traffic issues. This award is presented by the Commissioner of the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS).

2018 Award Recipient: Utah County Sheriff's Office 2021 Award Recipient: Ogden Police Department Traffic Unit 2023 Award Recipient: Carrie Silcox

OUTSTANDING TRAFFIC SAFETY PROGRAM AWARD

This award recognizes one project or subgrantee from the Utah Highway Safety Office (UHSO) and one from UDOT from the previous fiscal year that has been successful in reducing traffic-related deaths and injuries. The projects selected to receive this award must have accomplished all the objectives of the grant and made a positive impact on the community they serve. Recipients of this award are nominated and selected by UHSO and UDOT staff.

2018 Award Recipient: Utah Teen Memoriam Jenny Johnson and Utah Highway Safety Office & Utah Emergency Medical Services for Children Bicycle Skills Rodeo Trailer Program Allan Liu and Margues Varela 2021 Award Recipient: American Fork Canyon Working Group and Richfield

Police Department 2023 Award Recipient: Sgt. Brian Spillman 24/7 Sobriety Program

OUTSTANDING DRIVER EDUCATION TEACHER AWARD

This award recognizes a driver education teacher who has made a significant impact in improving traffic safety through educating drivers regarding safe driving habits and teaching students how to drive.

2022 Award Recipient: Blain "BJ" Roberts 2023 Award Recipient: Eric Stamps 2024 Award Recipient: Guy Mackay

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT IN PEDESTRIAN SAFETY AWARD

This award recognizes an individual or group for their innovative approaches to pedestrian safety design and implementation. It also recognizes individuals or groups who have made significant contributions to educating the public regarding pedestrian safety and facilitating behavior change. To be eligible, a recipient must have significantly improved pedestrian safety in Utah.

2021 Award Recipient: Mary Wade 2023 Award Recipient: Officer Mike Millett