Make homecomings happy
Drive safe this winter
A GOAL WE CAN ALL LIVE WITH
Every year traffic crashes kill over 30,000 people and injure about 2 million people nationwide. The best way to survive a crash is to prevent it from happening in the first place. Through years of research, we have found that almost every crash and the resulting fatalities come down to one or more deadly driving behaviors. Learn what you can do to be a safer driver and how to avoid crashes and injury.
Be prepared and stay safe this winter
Check out the winter driving tips from our UHP Troopers
Before you go
Drive Safely in Winter Conditions
How to Correct a Slide
(provided by Icyroadsafety.com)
What to do After a Crash
Move Over Law
The Truth is We Can All Do Better Behind the Wheel
WHAT TO DO IF YOU GET INTO A CRASH
- If it is clear, safe and legal, stop your vehicle. Move the vehicle out of the roadway if necessary.
- Turn off the ignition of the cars involved.
- Make sure everyone involved in the crash is OK.
- Call 911.
- If you have reflective triangles or flares set them around the crash site.
- Gather the names of witnesses of the crash.
- Take a picture with a camera and/or draw a quick diagram. Also note the date, time and weather.
- Write down the driver’s name, license, and plate numbers.
- Exchange insurance information. Do not discuss “fault” or make statements about the crash.
- Get a copy of the police report of the crash from the investigating law enforcement agency.
What to do when the unexpected happens on the freeway
If possible, exit the freeway as soon as possible, then turn right. Once your vehicle is stopped, call 9-1-1.
If your vehicle is driveable and you can safely move in traffic,
Pull over to the right
or exit the freeway
given by the 9-1-1- operator
Stay in your car and
Keep your seat belt on
Stay in your car on the freeway
As drivers age, their driving abilities may be impacted. This could include changes in vision, reaction time, and physical strength. With awareness and assistance, these drivers can continue to drive safely for many years.
For more information, visit Section 13 of the Utah Driver Handbook as well as the links below:
Utah’s Driver Point system
and you are out!
UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE
Utah drivers who are younger than 21 years old have stricter rules when it comes to earning points on their driving record. If they accumulate 70 points or more within three years, they may have to attend a hearing and could have their driving privileges suspended or denied for a period ranging from 30 days to one year.
Note: Points may vary plus or minus 10 percent depending upon severity of the record.
|Speeding (Depending on Severity)
|35 to 75
|Failure to Yield Right-of-Way
|Following too Closely (Tailgating)
|Wrong Side of Road
|Wrong Way on One-Way Street
|Other Moving Violations