Ready for Driver License
Minor ‘first time’ Driver license
Things Parents Should Know
After Your Teen Receives A Driver License
Set house rules for the driver:
- Always wear a seat belt as a passenger and a driver.
- No cell phone use while driving – including hands-free or handheld devices – for teen drivers, it’s the law.
- Follow all driving laws, including GDL laws.
- No impaired driving.
- Do not drive with an unlicensed driver.
- Encourage two-way communication with your teen. Let your know that the reason you set rules is for safety, not to control his or her life.
- Use the parent/teen driving agreement to guide your discussions.
- Get plenty of practice nighttime driving in before allowing your teen to drive alone at night.
- It’s ok to say “No” to friends in the car for the first 6 months. Crash risk doubles when one friend is in the car. The risk increases with more passengers.
Your teen is still gaining driving experience and continuing to need your guidance. The greatest lifetime chance of crashing for teens occurs during the first six to 12 months after receiving a license.
Set initial limits as your newly licensed teen begins to drive alone, including:
- No peer passengers for the first six months of driving. Extend the duration of this rule if you feel your teen driver is distracted easily behind the wheel.
- No nighttime driving between the hours of 12am – 5am for teens under 17 years old.
- Allow driving on low speed and familiar roads only at first and then gradually allow driving on more difficult roads.
- Control the keys. Teens are less likely to crash when they share a car with family members. Controlling the keys allows a parent and teen to talk about driving plans, where they are going and when they’ll be back. (Source: CHOP)
Keeping Your Newly Licensed Driver Safe
Text “Ready2Drive” to 888111 for biweekly text messages that will help you teach your teen the skills they need to avoid critical errors that are common with new drivers. Once you’ve subscribed, you can text STOP to opt out any time.
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Information
Graduated Driver Licensing laws, or GDL laws, include some restrictions that protect you and your teen in a few ways:
- They delay the full license while teens are learning in safe conditions.
- They protect teens from situations known to increase crash risk
- They help parents gradually increase their new driver’s independence as they learn good driving habits to be a successful and safe driver.
In fact, since 1999 when the GDL program was instituted in Utah, parents have seen a 69% decrease in the number of teens ages 15–17 killed in motor vehicle crashes (Utah Department of Transportation).
The bottom line is that the GDL laws are important because they save lives.
Minor (First Time) Driver License Requirements by Age
Please implement the laws below in your teen’s driving practice and remember, it is vitally important that your teen get the minimum 40 hours (10 at night) of drive time.
|Driver Age||Nighttime Driving Restrictions||Exceptions to Nighttime Driving Restrictions||Front Seat Passenger Restrictions with a Learner Permit||Other Passenger Restrictions||Exceptions to Other Passenger Restrictions|
|16||12 a.m. to 5 a.m.||Front seat passenger must be a parent/guardian, driving instructor or adult who co-signed the permit application||If you have a license: No passengers except immediate family until 6 months after receiving a minor license||
|17||None||Not Applicable||Front seat passenger must be a parent/guardian, driving instructor or adult who co-signed the permit application||If you have a license: No passengers except immediate family until 6 months after receiving a minor license||
|18||None||Not Applicable||Front seat passenger must be a licensed driver at least 21 years of age||None||Not Applicable|
|19 or older||None||Not Applicable||Front seat passenger must be a licensed driver at least 21 years of age||None||Not Applicable|
- Any use of a cell phone while driving is illegal for all drivers under age 18.
- Absolutely no alcohol or drugs in your system or in the car while driving. Not-a-Drop.
READY FOR MINOR DRIVER LICENSE?
- Teens must be at least 16 before applying for a driver license.
- Teens under age 18 must have a learner permit for six months before applying for a driver license. However, if they turn 18 during this six-month time period, they can apply for a driver license upon turning 18 after completing a driver education course.
- Parents/guardians must sign for financial responsibility until their teen is age 18.
- Parents/guardians can, at any time and for any reason, withdraw their signature and cancel their teen’s driver license.
Minor Driver License Details
A minor driver is under the age of 21 and is issued a provisional Class D driver license. Every resident of Utah who drives a motor vehicle on the highways must have a valid Utah driver license, learner permit, or temporary driving permit.
Persons become residents and will need to obtain a Utah driver license if they:
- Enter the state with the intention of making Utah their home.
- Remain in the state for a period of six (6) months or more during any calendar year.
- Obtain a driver license or register a motor vehicle in Utah.
- Obtain privileges not extended to non-residents, including school tuition.
- Are gainfully employed in Utah (This does not apply if you are on a temporary assignment in the state.)
Resources For Parents
Utah's GDL Laws
Graduated driver licensing allows new drivers to learn driving skills over time and gain the experience needed to become safe drivers. Teens receive a “limited driver license” and have certain driving restrictions such as no night-time driving, limitations on who can be in the vehicle with them and the amount of supervised driving time they must have before getting a full license.